'Highland Survivor' wins 2017 Railway Book of the Year [Kessock Books]

Date: 24/04/2017

David Spaven's book, 'Highland Survivor' has won the Railway and Canal Historical Society award for '2017 Railway Book of the Year'. David commented 'Im delighted that this award will bring additional focus to a much-neglected railway, which deserves the same kind of attention as the better-known classic Highland tourist lines to Kyle, Fort William, Mallaig and Oban. ScotRail and tourist bodies should be applying to the Far North Line the same kind of transformative marketing as the highly successful North Coast 500 road campaign. The railway penetrates territory where no road goes, and over its half a dozen distinct geographical sections it skirts estuaries, climbs between mountain ranges and runs along a dramatic, unspoilt coastline. This is a hidden gem waiting to be discovered.'

External links

Kessock Books Press release

Kessock Books



Related images

We at Kessock Books are excited to announce the pending publication of 'Highland Survivor - The Story of the Far North Line' written by David Spaven. The content and wide selection of previously unpublished photographs will be of great interest to railway enthusiasts in general but also to a far-reaching audience interested in one of Britain's most remarkable rail survivors. The book will be officially launched on 21 September. More information - note if placing a pre-order use the code HS10 for a 10% reduction.
Location: The Story of the Far North Line
Company: Highland Railway
21/09/2016 Kessock Books