A plaque will be displayed on the Sun Inn to celebrate the Newbattle Viaduct. The plaque reads 'National Historic Civil Enginering Landmark - Newbattle Viadct - a 23 arch msonry viaduct designed by John Miller with brick arch rings characteristic of Miller's Practice. The easternmost arch over the A7 is a skewed arch. Opened in 1849. It replaced and earlier unique 24 span cast-iron pointed arch and timber structure of 1830 built by the Marquess of Lothian for horse-drawn waons of coal. It carried the Edinburgh and Hawick Railway, which from 1862 became the Waverley Line to Carlisle. Anglo-Scottish expresses went over here until closure in 1969, and after the last freight ceased in 1972 the viaduct was to be without rails until the coming of the Borders Railway, which opened in 2015. Presented 6 September 2018 in the 200th anniversary year of the Institution of Civil Engineers by Bam, Borders Railway Community Partnership, ICE.
Location: Newbattle Viaduct
Photographer: John Yellowlees
Contact photographer: John Yellowlees
Image number: 65519